Burnt Eggs on the Menu

A long time ago before old age set in, somebody sent me a funny email describing how an old person got distracted by so many small incidental things while on the way to do something important that he ultimately forgot what it was he set out to do.
How I laughed and laughed. No longer. That old person is now me.

This morning before breakfast I put eggs on the stove to hard boil making a mental note not to forget about them, all the while changing the bed, putting on a washing, eating breakfast, reading the paper and then hanging up the said washing.

It wasn't until I passed the kitchen with that distinctive smell of burning pan that I remembered.
Too late, but thankfully the pan will live to see another day and hopefully the charred eggs will add a certain piquancy to the salad tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.