jillington

By jillington

"Sidewalk Judge"

My friend, Kathy, and I spent a very enjoyable afternoon in Warsaw, Indiana viewing the life size cast bronze sculptures by the artist, J. Seward Johnson. They are installed around the square and in the nearby park and depict people engaged in every day activities or figures well known in photography, etc. Monet is standing with his easel, painting the lovely county courthouse across the street. We also saw, "The Kiss", a famous photo from WWII featured in Life magazine.

"The Sidewalk Judge" is a lifelike tribute to an elder generation of men who whiled away hours in the town square dispensing advice whether passers by welcomed it or not. I'm sure I would have enjoyed it immensely so Kathy and I both sat for friendly photos! I also wanted you to see my awesome red, white and blue sunglasses; might as well let the festivities begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.