ABeautifulWorld

By ABeautifulWorld

Al Khobar

This place is beautiful. I'm currently observing Ramadan - when Muslims all around the world abstain from food/drink during daylight hours to develop respect for the poor and also self control.

I spent this afternoon strolling the streets and parks of Al Khobar in 48 degrees (celsius) weather - good thing the bus stops are air conditioned!

On my way home I saw many people working away in the searing heat (mostly picking up rubbish) and felt absolutely terrible for them having to do this. Having said that, they do these jobs to earn more than at home i.e Pakistan/Bangladesh. All I can say after the experience is I feel so grateful for all I've been blessed with, and how I wish we can do something to change the workers' circumstances.

On a happier note - Happy Summer! I am missing the Scottish 'summer' :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.