Windy Day Entertainment

It was very hot today but there was a lovely breeze blowing which helped (I don’t care for heat – usually anything over 70 makes me cranky and we’ve been in the 80s lately). Anyway, these are not just ordinary wind chimes. I’m very sentimental about them because my husband bought them and he’s been gone over 10 years now. He bought them because they reminded him of parachutes and his days jumping out of planes which he loved to do for some twisted reason. As a bonus, they make a lovely muted sound and are not annoying like some wind chimes I’ve heard. Plus, my yard is protected so even on very windy days it gets a gentle breeze which makes them even more enjoyable. Every year I put them away in the winter and bring them out in the spring and every time I hear them I think of him. He was a paratrooper in the Army and then spent some time skydiving for fun, mostly before I knew him which is a good thing because I probably would have been a nervous wreck watching him do that. I could never think of a logical reason to jump out of a perfectly good plane.

This afternoon I spent about an hour and a half hooked up to multiple electrodes while a delightful and very congenial young lady watched on a couple of monitors whatever brain activity she could find in my head. Of course, I have to wait for the neurologist to read the results so it may be a few days before I find out what's going on. She did assure me that if she had seen anything really bad she would go get the doctor right away.

In one of those “it’s a small world” moments, we discovered that she had been a juror in one of the trials in our court, although not in my courtroom, but I remembered the trial she was on from her description of the criminal defense attorney – “The worst attorney you could imagine”. Sadly, I knew exactly who she was talking about. As a matter of fact, after the trial, one of the jurors told him he did a terrible job. You know it’s bad when a juror says that to an attorney. That was good for a laugh which helped me feel better about the whole test.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.