Life Savors

By osuzanna

Happy 4th!

I thought I would get a shot of something red, white and blue for this 4th of July holiday and this is the playground equipment at our neighborhood elementary school seemed to fit the bill.

In addition to being our big summer holiday commemorating Independence, today is also my Aussie sister’s birthday, my Aussie niece’s birthday and my husband’s Aunt’s birthday. One of President Obama’s daughters was born on the 4th as well as the songwriter, Stephen Foster who wrote “Oh! Susanna”, Louis Armstrong, and George Steinbrenner, former owner of the New York Yankees, the beloved baseball team of my husband and two youngest sons.

Two well known signers of the Declaration of Independence, Thomas Jefferson (3rd President) and John Adams (2nd President) both died on this day in 1826. They were the last two surviving of the original revolutionaries and when Adams lay dying, he was reassured by the thought that Jefferson still lived, however he did not know that Jefferson had died just 5 hours earlier.

Happy 4th, to all my American Blipper friends. If you haven’t seen the adorable Google Doodle for today, check it out here, although I am posting this so late it will probably be gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.