Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

High in the Sky!!

This morning I was on my morning Blip Adventure in Ballina and was walking back to the motel when yes, I looked up!! After this morning I will always look up!!

I couldn't believe my eyes. There on top of the Communication Tower was a huge birds nest. It was still very dusky and I thought I could just make out a bird looking over the edge of the nest. It turned out to be an Osprey and it was indeed a nest. I have added a shot on to my blip folio which puts the whole thing in perspective. Obviously this beautiful Osprey has a phone plan with Telstra!!

Now I've had time to do some research and this is indeed a well orchestrated attempt to assist with the recovery of the Eastern Osprey population on the northern New South Wales Coast. They are in fact Man Made nests and I thought my fellow blippers may find this link of interest.

Just recently I saw a segment on television about a similar situation in America, but I had no idea that a similar plan was in place in Australia. Unfortunately the Osprey went off to catch fish for its babies and I had to head back so we could start the second last leg of our journey home. Make no mistake I'll be checking that nest out the next time I'm travelling north.

Regarding the image - it's not the greatest quality but I thought it was such a fascinating subject that it was well worth documenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.