There and back again

By Mikes

Same thing, a different time!

I have been watching the Tour de France from Yorkshire and what a tremendous job they have made of it, wonderful scenery, great crowds and lots of people having fun.

A far cry from the first time the event was brought to Plymouth 40 years ago. I was drafted from East Devon to Plymouth to help police the event, and after spending the night in the Royal Navy Barracks in HMS Drake we were taken to our points to control the crowds!

Apart from the bits near Plymouth, where there were some spectators, the route ran through open country side and at my point I was the only one there!. If you can imagine a motorway that had been closed to all traffic and standing on the crass verge watching a bunch of cyclist whizzing past one way then about half an hour later they whizzed back on the opposite carriageway, that was my day!

My only amusement was a little open truck following the bikes and giving away promotional hats and things. Every time they passed me I got a few bits and pieces and I went home with my pocket's full. As they say "A Policeman's lot is (often) not a happy one!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.