Saturday: Dubravko And The Barbecue

We were invited to a barbecue at Danko's house. He has a lovely place - although it is still pretty much in town it has a lovely garden, full of vines and apple trees. There were about 12 of us, all sat at a long trestle table until the wee hours of the morning. It all felt very Adriatic.

And when I say wee, I mean wee! We had realised that, because we sort of keep to English hours, we might be developing a reputation of always being amongst the first to leave. So we made a pact that we wouldn't leave until we no could no longer be counted amongst the first, but held a respectable middle ground. I thought that might still see me in bed around midnight, or perhaps just after (given we started at 1800). 4am!! Yes, that's what time we got home. And I think we were still only the third or fourth to leave! These Croatians really do know how to linger! At 3am, more food suddenly appeared......

This is Dubravko, doing his man thing at the barbecue. The helmet is something we gave to Danko as he loves all kinds of jokes and toys. The apron, however, has absolutely nothing to do with us.

I'm off now to retrieve whatever I can of my Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.