neilnewson

By neilnewson

Pond Dipping Again

Was really pleased when I saw a tiny newt floating on the surface of the pond this morning. When I stuck the net in to explore further I pulled out several baby newt larvae. A great find as I was starting to worry that the pond was not as fertile as in recent years - have not seen many newts this year and now the baby toads have all but disappeared then I was starting to get a little concerned about the lack of wildlife. I also found leeches, lice, and pond skaters.

The newts were stars of the show though - at various stages of development. As much as I wanted them to be Alpine Newts (am still not sure that they are not as am 50/50 as to whether what I have fished out in past years has been Alpine or just 'in season' smooth male smooth newts) but probably think these are common or smooth newt larvae.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.