Le Tour

Cambridgeshire went wild for The Tour de France today. We took the children and went with friends to experience it for ourselves. Our location had been carefully selected with consideration to distance, accessibility (many roads were closed) and ability to get near the front. Our leader Kerri got it spot on, we went to Radwinter, with the only downside being that we had to cycle 8 miles to get there!

My bicycle has a basket on the front, and I don't know how to use gears, shall I just leave it at that and you can imagine the rest...

Nevertheless all 16 of us (including me) made it and it was a great thing to be part of, despite quite a lot of down-time between the caravan and the riders...

The icing on the cake was a BBQ and drinks at Kate and Ken's house on return and given that my legs felt like jelly when I got back to Linton I'm seriously in awe of these TDF cyclists that keep pedalling for 5 hours and then sprint at the end!

What a great day. I'll be watching from now on that's for sure. More pictures here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.