CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The swans, in a surprisingly quiet mode

I went to town twice today, to spend a couple of hours planning a committee meeting for next week and then again this evening to our regular full council meeting. In between I carried on final research and other preparations for the grant application I will submit tomorrow or Wednesday.

In between I came home, hung out the washing partly caused by Bomble being sick on our duvet and sheet this morning just after dawn, which didn't amuse me. (But seeing the light across the valley at that time was a pretty sight.) I also had a few minutes watching the last day of Le Tour de France's visit to these shores, as the bikers rolled through the pretty Essex countryside. I sat watching with a falafel wrap that I'd purchased in town and a cuppa soup, which were both delicious.

By teatime I was ready to drive to pick up Helena from her teaching job further up the valley near Brimscombe. I took my camera and went there fifteen minutes early aiming to spend the time looking tat the river Frome where I often go on Monday afternoons. As usual the swans were there too and despite there not being any special swan activities this week I liked the way they were moving together here, as they always do. Minutes later they headed off downriver under the small bridge and sailed away under the tall canopy of trees to pastures new, as I'd never seen them go there before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.