'Pasalubong' means 'Gifts'

It's a Tagalog word and it specifically refers to gifts we bring to folks when we come from a distant place. These boxes of sidewalk chalk are for two little boys, one of whom has just started school. I don't think the tradition came from the Spanish colonizers although I suppose it began at the time. I'm suddenly wondering who the very first pasalubong-bringers were -- the wealthy who could afford to travel? the colonizers? natives who had to move to other islands and then returned to their hometown to visit family?

Rainy day today, but ... my marks are completely done! Now just a couple more days to finish that report that's about a month old plus some planning. And then ... and then ... I'm guessing you could now be guessing what the countdown I mentioned yesterday is all about ... ;)

So sorry for being unable to comment much. I am just so tired right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.