hsuf

By hsuf

meltdown

One of those dreaded computer malfunction days. The desktop wouldn't boot up this morning. But the service centre said it was ok.

I worked out that one of the external drives (which holds years of digital files) was not working as it should. Minor (actually quite major) panic as I thought I was about to lose some 6 years of digital files. Then I worked out I was about to lose 6 months of digital files because everything up to this year was safely backed up, This year's files not backed up because of a stupid (yes stupid!!!) error on my part in setting up the auto backups.

Then the drive came back to life, and I thought I'd better back it up now. Then it went off line again, and more panic sets in. Then I decide, let's just try swapping cables. And that worked. What was shaping up to be an unmitigated disaster became a $10 cable swap fix. Sometimes I hate computer hardware.

But I'm not taking any chances. I'm backing everything up now, which means the computer is crawling ….

Anyway, I took this at the mall where the computer service centre was located. I was attracted by the light in the atrium but didn't do it any justice, I was just too preoccupied with computer hardware failure ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.