When Miss L Goes to School

I have just cried all the way home from school after dropping off the Little Misses on their last day of term.
A couple of years ago I was sad that Miss E's baby days were coming to an end. She was just about to go into Reception.
That was just a taster for how I feel now!
Whenever I've talked about "when Miss L goes to school" it's been an abstract thought. Unimaginable!
It's when I'll get a job/get the house sorted/cook more/volunteer/set up my own business/exercise more/get some more qualifications......
As I sit here with tears pouring down my face I feel like it's actually the time where my purpose will have gone.
Every day for the last six and a half years my job has been to look after my children; do my best to get them ready for the next bit.
What do I do now?
For the last couple of years - while Miss E has spread her wings a little and grown into a schoolgirl - it's often just been me and Miss L
My precious Miss L.
Today was her last day in nursery. The last day. How did that happen?
It's only five minutes since she was born!
Obviously I took it all for granted and thought it would last forever - the cuddles, the mad chats, the laughter, the outings, the hours spent doing nothing.
Watching her grow from a baby into a beautiful, funny, bright, loving little girl
She's always had to share me with Miss E which has made our time alone together even more precious.
I know it'll be fine! Obviously my job as Mummy doesn't end when she walks into Reception in a couple of months.
And it'll give me the time to get a job/get the house sorted/cook more/volunteer/set up my own business/exercise more/get some more qualifications!!
When Miss L goes to school.
We're nearly there.
And I feel heartbroken again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.