Kiteseeker

By Kiteseeker

Peekaboo

Competed in a three hour mountain bike orienteering event today. It was a score competition where the object was to visit as many control points as possible within the time with penalties for being late. We started in Cropton Forest and then had to decide whether a trip into Pickering Forest was worthwhile.

Fortunately familiar terrain did help and we made it back with two minutes to spare having collected 325 of a possible 500 points. Our best score to date this season. We will be back tomorrow for a 4 hour event this time in Rosedale - plenty of killer climbs to test the legs!

I thought I would get some shots of the finish. This one amused me as the gentleman concerned was doing his best to hide from view, his muddy legs showing the tracks were far from dry. Little did he, or I realise that the flag was see through so I got him smirking as another competitor raced through the gate. I suspect a few will be heading across the road to sample the micro brewery ales at the New Inn tonight. I on the other hand headed for home for a bath and some carbo loading!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.