There and back again

By Mikes

Newborne

Another lovely morning for a nice walk then back to get the papers and read them over breakfast. The air was clear this morning and I was happy that I had a few nice landscapes in the bag.

Nearly back to the car we passed some other dog owners coming from the opposite direction, then out of the corner of my eye I saw movement in a black shadow that they had just passed. we stopped and watched as a tiny baby calf struggled and climbed shakily to its feet. It was obviously not been born very long, perhaps in the night or the early hours and here we were watching its first steps.

It was about 100 yards away and I only had my wide angle lens with me so without getting in to close and upsetting the mother I grabbed this shot and enlarged it.
There had been no calves "born" here since the herd were put back a few month ago so either this one is late in coming or more cattle have been added, which might have been the case

Anyhow its made my blip today. Other pictures may be forthcoming no doubt! See this in "Large"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.