Live In Wonder

Day 3 of the Oregon Country Fair. A ton of good pictures to share, but this one is the best story. This (on the right) is Eric Saperston. Eric is a filmmaker, and I recognized him in the crowd at the main stage. I recognized him because of his movie that I showed to my classes the last year I taught. If you want an inspiring story told from the counterculture side of things, Eric's is the one for you. The link to his website and much of the story is right here. Check it out.

While I was teaching, I heard about his film and had to show my classes. Today, when I recognized him, I had to thank him for his inspiring film and what it meant to my kids. He was so appreciative and grateful, and such a gracious person. He thanked me over and over for coming to him to tell him about my experience. His first film was "The Journey", and he said he was at the Country Fair filming portions of his follow up to that, "Living In Wonder." He then motioned to me, saying, "Come on…I want to interview you." He and his assistant Petra led me to a secluded spot under a grove of maple trees and he interviewed and filmed me for several minutes. Then we just talked. I mean, this guy was genuinely interested in my story and my thoughts on all of this. He said he'll use my interview in his upcoming film. After we were through, he went back and introduced himself warmly to Tom. He acted like he had been our friend for the past 40 years. I'm not sure if my segment will make it into his new film or wind up on the cutting room floor, but no worries; this man is here to teach us to live in wonder, to appreciate each day. It's been a good reminder to me. It's been a great Oregon Country Fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.