Matte Black Covers

Henry Green - Electric Feel (Kygo Remix)

Yesterday, after hanging out with my friends, I got home a lot earlier than usual for a Sunday night. At about 6pm and had a quick 1hr snooze. I normally get the last train for whatever reason on a Sunday night, I hate wasting my weekends doing nothing but this weekend calls for it. Sunday, after waking up, I had a cycle around town to find more nooks and crannies of the city I live in. I went shopping, but more importantly, I just took things in. I need time to myself simply because things are too hectic in factors of my life. My close friend said to me, you can take pictures everyday but if you don't take the time to review and chill you won't know what direction you're going in and hate the expression you put out. This was that time to do a little reflection and see past my Japanese romance.

Going shopping at the local mall, it's dead obvious that despite Japan being so different from the rest of Asia and the world, a shopping mall (from a certain perspective) is such a depressing place in any country for me. I bought what I needed and took the time to re-evaluate what I want in life. This simple yet elusive necessity of addressing wants is such a daunting task sometimes. The fear of change nullifies the surreptitious rewards it can potentially reap. I got wifi for my apartment so all my innocuous technological devices now have access to the Internet in my tiny box of an apartment (not that I actually need anything bigger). That evening I proceeded to waste time on my iPad exploring the potential power it has. Books, comics, apps, magazines, etc. With so much choice it proves nothing. I love it but self-control and defining what you actually need in the now is a skill much more valuable than an insatiable appetite of consumerist greed. In 3-4 years time, all the troubles that are seemingly engulfing me will disappear. I will not need the champions of today's problems.

Looking further to this never-ending formula of problem-solution-forget, what is there ultimately?

Today I went to the gym, had my Japanese lesson, waited for my friend to finish his lesson and have a much needed catch-up, then off to the local Starbucks to get my coffee fix and waste 2 hours of more iPad exploring and reading, then to town to meet a friend visiting from Australia (pictured). Dinner and catch-ups were had, yet despite the time in between meetings it feels like we hadn't been separated. We last met in Melbourne of April this year. We had very open conversations of the states of our lives and it felt great to confide in yet another good person.

Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.