f/Stop f/Start again

By annewokingham

I.T. HELP

This is my son Jamie. He has a BSc in Computer Science and is often my knight in shining armour to help with my technical issues..... of which there seem to be many.

As a film editor, my PC is under a lot of pressure with file sizes from video projects and Jamie had suggested I should buy an SSD (Solid State Drive). With no moving parts, its response time is much faster than a traditional Hard Drive (chug, chug, chug). So I bought one, and the plan was for him to install it for me.

It came with 4 of the tiniest screws you can imagine, and it took both of us some considerable time just to attach the SSD to its cradle. Does anyone test these things?

Next problem, my PC, (like most these days) came with no windows disk, which I need to install the new SSD. After 3 hours of trying to find a solution to this online, Jamie, gave up. I phoned Dell computers today who are based in Bracknell (5 miles away) and got through to India. They were happy to supply a windows disk at a cost of £29. The point is, I own a licence for windows on this PC. It's MY licence, which I paid for when I bought the PC. Its a scandal that they should charge for a disk which should have come with it in the first place!!!

Plan B....... there is no plan B. Grrrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.