A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Chicago Neighborhood

After spending the night last night watching our grand daughter , we took a rainy walk through their neighborhood to have breakfast at a local dive diner. It cleared up a bit on the way home and the walk felt wonderful. I managed to stay on my new eating regime, which made me proud. I'm going wheat-free for two weeks, along with avoiding a lot of other things that I've long enjoyed. It's really not that bad.

We woke up in Chicago this morning at our kids' home and when we turned on the TV we heard some scary news about our neighborhood out in the far west suburbs. A small plane crashed very near to our home and both people on board were killed. The plane, according to my good friend and neighbor who was interviewed by the media, the plane flew VERY low over our homes before making impact about 1/2 mile away. It blew up into a huge fireball and hardly anything was left of the wreckage. It crashed in a neighborhood just like mine in someone's front yard. Part of their garage was hit and has a large whole in the side of it. The residents were home but unharmed. My neighbor said he and his wife were having dinner when they heard the plane flying right over their rooftop and they both instinctively ducked their heads, knowing a plane was coming down. Then they heard the explosion and their house shook. How absolutely terrifying. I'm glad we weren't home at the time. A very sad thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.