New 3rd ager

By 1pTrader

Boris Bikes on dry,sunny St Swithin's Day

London day today, and passing these reminded me that I have promised myself one day I would hop on one between Paddington and Covent Garden.

As it is St Swithin's Day , I will record the weather as part of my blip for the next 40 days to test the folklore. (Based on weather at home only !)

A legend says that Swithin, as Bishop of Winchester, lay on his deathbed, he asked to be buried out of doors, where he would be trodden on and rained on. For nine years, his wishes were followed, but then, the monks of Winchester attempted to remove his remains to a splendid shrine inside the cathedral on 15 July 971. According to legend there was a heavy rain storm either during the ceremony or on its anniversary.

This led to the old wives' tale (folklore) that if it rains on St Swithin's Day (July 15th), it will rain for the next 40 days in succession, and a fine 15th July will be followed by 40 days of fine weather.

If your still reading this then this very uniquely dressed man not only attracted my attention today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.