Towards Hebden Bridge

Have to recommend a zoom in. This is one of my favourite views.

Thanks for the responses to the riddle. I can report that both my sons struggled to solve it - which lends me to think that it's perhaps as much about the wording as the gender stereotyping. It's rather shocking to be forced to acknowledge how much our thought can be manipulated. Many people make a living out of understanding such techniques. It's late now so perhaps that's a subject best left for another day.

The day started and ended with beautiful weather and skies and I decided that the best way to get on top of this current malaise is to beat it into submission. It seems to be working! Plus I'm aware of how quickly the nights start closing in this time of year. I don't want to miss out on any magical evening right now.

After cycling in early this morning I left the office at 6pm with the idea of taking the long route home. In the end, that long turned into very long. At Howarth, instead of going straight on, I turned left to pick up the Tour de France route of the previous Sunday. I fancied reliving all the excitement. It was quite a poignant moment to encounter the "Allez Contador" sign, passing by in exactly the same place on the road that the great man himself rode by just over a week ago. Like Mark Cavendish and Chris Froome before him, Alberto Contador crashed out yesterday. The stars of the race have been decimated. It's really sad because what looked likely to be a very competitive race could now be just about the minor places. All three jerseys look pretty nailed on to me - although I know that there is a lot of racing left.

I swooped into Hebden Bridge (stopping to take this shot halfway down the descent - a view I doubt the peloton had a chance to appreciate) before climbing out again through the woods on the other side of the valley, past Heptonstall, the famous church of which you can see on the right. The prominent landmark on the opposite fell is Stoodley Pike. I cycled on to Trawden, via Wild Widdop (the almost blip), before returning home via Cowling, Steeton, Silsden and Addingham Moorside, arriving just before darkness fell. I'd forgotten what a wonderful route this is - and also how hard it is. The hills are unrelenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.