and through the wire...

By hesscat

Girlhood

Hmmm... I have been pondering this throughout the day, knowing we were off to see Boyhood later and having taken this possible blip first thing as Ms H sets off to granny's.

In general, do we treat Boyhood and Girlhood differently? Is it more sentimental to think of a boy becoming a man rather than a girl becoming a woman? A film about Boyhood is more likely to be made than Girlhood? Having gone through one of these, haha, have almost got through it, surely "the other" journey is much bigger? It's scary to compare how I felt in my late teens to how I now see what I must have been like - a wee laddie. Aye, philosophy corner is over now...

As for the film, brilliant, just like they said it was, great storytelling that just flowed through, one of my favs of the year. And despite being about Boyhood, it was easy to relate it to Ms H's journey and what is coming. "What have you been up to today? Oh, stuff..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.