Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Atlantis

I am a space geek, a complete space nerd. Especially anything to do with manned space flight.

Somehow I have lived 36 years (!) without visiting Kennedy Space Centre, so I put that right today.

The new Atlantis Shuttle exhibit is just perfectly executed from beginning to end. I knew something would bring me to tears today, I was expecting it to be Apollo related, but the moment I first saw Atlantis did it. I won't spoil it for anyone who plans to go some day, and if you've already been you'll know what I mean. Wow.


They have the biggest Space Shop in the world .... I don't have room in my case to bring back any of my clothes after that.

The centre was very quiet today, it made for a very leisurely visit and we saw everything we wanted to see - including the Astronaut Hall of Fame which was also well done, if a little aimed at geeks like me!

So. now we are installed in Orlando, our hotel is on the Universal site so we have already been into one of the parks, been on The Simpsons ride and drunk beer in Moe's bar. We've been to Universal in California but this is a whole new ball game ( despite lacking the crumbs of authenticity!). The queues for the new Harry Potter ride were over 7 hours long when it opened last week - not sure I'm that keen. Can't help but wonder at what Ms Rowling created when you walk around the HP part of the parks - not sure what royalty deal she has but I wouldn't mind a millionth.

Ok, so it's been a long day, and we can go into the park at 7am so I need sleep. Not sure the prickly heat will allow much of that. I think I may ditch the camera as I am sick of lugging it around so iPhone Blips from now on.

Ps. Breakfast - "small" waffle with butter and maple syrup. John had some sort of combo that involved a disgusting amount of cholesterol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.