JR

By jenaral

death by a can opener

I have never thought about the importance of a good can opener, until I moved to Maryland. I guess can openers have just been there; from growing up to moving out, there has always been one available. I never made observations about can openers, until now. To tell you the truth, I just thought a can opener is a can opener- it didn't matter what it looked like. Well, this can opener has gotten the best of me. For the first time in my life, I didn't have a can opener- so I had to go buy one. When I went to the grocery store, I briefly glanced at the selection and of course, chose the cheapest one. It has been months now using this can opener, and every time it is a process and it is not an easy one. Sometimes it may take up to twenty minutes to open a can; often I opt for a knife instead of the can opener---which by the way is not a good idea-but tonight, when I brought out my can of tomatoes, I faced the can opener one last time. I said "not you again" and began to open the tomatoes. I lost- the face off ended in me splattered with tomato juice and my fingers sliced. I was defeated. However, lesson learned "Never buy a cheap can opener, and don't wait to buy one, when you know you have a can opener that doesn't work." Wow, I just said can opener more times in a row, then I probably ever will again. The Good news- dinner was delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.