My Time Abroad

By jrgoode

Cinema of Unease: A Personal Journey

Massey's layout of my schedule was confusing so I made my own color-coded, easy-t0-read version. Those are my four classes this semester! Exciting stuff. Nervous for "Screen Fictions" cause it's a 300 level course, but I'm a junior now and should be prepared for it. It seems really interesting, so I'm gunna stick with it.

Today I had my first class, "New Zealand Cinema". Should be a neat one, the professor seems very passionate about NZ-made films. Today was a screening class so we watched about an hour long film that briefly touched upon specific films from the early 1900s till around 1995 but through the life and memories of New Zealand-born actor, Sam Neill (Dr. Alan Grant from Jurassic Park). He directed/narrated the whole movie. Surprisingly, everything made here in NZ before the 2000's was pretty dark. They were big on horror films and stuff. But most of the movies looked pretty good. The course doesn't touch upon The Lord of the Rings or anything like that but I saw some of Peter Jackson's older films on there.

Had Dominos (yeah, the pizza franchise exists here) for dinner and am not feeling very pleasant now. Next week me and my flatmates are starting our new cooking system. Monday-Thursday each of us have a night where we cook dinner for everyone. I feel bad because I'm an awful cook but hopefully I'll improve. It'll work out though and I'll be saving money and eating healthier. Can't complain.

Kiwi Word of the Day
Capsicum: a genus of flowering plants in the nightshade family Solanaceae... a.k.a. Peppers.
We added capsicum to our pepperoni pizza
a.k.a we added green peppers to our pepperoni pizza
Strange word.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.