twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Carn a Chlamain

Birthday, in need of solitude.
Up at 0445; on the road at 0515 and at Blair Atholl for 7ish. A 21 mile wander up Glen Tilt, across Carn a Chlamain (Munro #155) and as the cloud lifted at 1000, I decided to stay out later and take a circuitous route back via the Corbett of Beinn Mheadhonach (the photo is me descending off this one). Never saw a sole, no phone coverage, just me and my thoughts. Birthdays I hate; stems from childhood shyness and being forced to be the centre of attention and I've never fully reconciled this or forgiven parents for ignoring my pleas to be left in peace so these days I vanish for the day.

Had such a good day, sun came out, fabulous wildlife ( a million frogs, 200 red deer, hen harrier, loads of butterflies) and eventually trailed back down the A( to Madlib's Pinata Beats. Hoping to make the TdF highlights (about a week ago when it became clear the SGSR wasn't happening, I briefly considered Yorkshire, but as there was no solitude, I went north instead.

Got home, and a rather hurriedly arranged RV for a couple of hours at TukTuk was organised; we met there, eat, then sat in the Meadows in sunshine and chilled. SO relaxed, which is abnormal in somewhere so public.

And home, bed by 11. Ready for the onslaught of lunch on Sunday....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.