Pleading

This seagull seemed to think that if she looked all coy and sweet I might share my lunch with her. She was wrong!

I flew up to Auckland this morning for another conference. It is at a hotel right on the Panmure Basin so it was lovely to sit outside having lunch, overlooking the water. But we did get a little mobbed with gulls wanting to share.

A very worthwhile day conference wise, Guy Claxton was the keynote speaker today and also did a workshop. I also managed to attend a couple of workshops with Nathan Mikare-Wallis, and tomorrow James Nottingham is the morning keynote. Brilliant line-up.

At lunch time I noticed a number of kingfishers and herons out on the basin so after the conference I took a walk around the water's edge with my camera. There were so many kingfishers out there that I kept losing count - but there were definitely more than 20!

Unfortunately my big lens doesn't really fit in my luggage (and I didn't know I'd want it on this trip) so no decent photos were obtainable. I may try another walk around the seawall in the morning when the tide will be closer in so the birds will be closer in too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.