Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Elecampane (Inula helenium)

Lovely hot sunny day here for a change! Had to go to the optician for a routine checkup this morning - everything OK. The drops I had to have administered bothered me a bit and I thought I wouldn't be able to make a decent blip today. However, all's well and I managed to get a hover fly hovering on my Elecampane. I brought this flower up from England many years ago and was very pleased to see it survive the Scottish Winters.

It's a medicinal plant although I've never used any of it. You name it and Elecampane will cure it:-) It produces a substance called Helenine which was once used to rid children of worms! The root can also be used to cure Dropsy - whatever that is!

Hope you are all having a nice day:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.