British Standard

I have several bikes (sorry, same theme again...) of various makes; a Marin mountain bike, Dawes tourer, an old handbuilt Raleigh steel frame I cherish and I intend to convert into a "fixie".

However, my all-time favourite work-horse for tootling about on (not slowly mind!) is from the factory that is one of only two that still hand-build bikes in the UK... No, not a folding origami bike, but a Pashley Sovereign Roadster no less.

Anyway, I was too enthusiastic and overtightened the seat-post bolt and split it in two. Glad I wasn't in Selby when that happened! Unobtainable spare part from any of the local bike shops would you believe.

In the end, I rang the factory in Stratford-on-Avon and was put through to the managing director no less. No problem. He put a bolt in the post there and then. No charge.

Bernie! That's British :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.