Marbled White Butterfly

The marbled white is difficult to photograph with the upper side of its wings showing. I took plenty of shots of it with its wings closed, showing the delicate pattern on the underside of the wings - but his was the only one of the upper wing pattern - and this is not as sharp as I would have liked.

Although named the Marbled White, this butterfly is actually a brown butterfly with white markings!

The last week of fine weather has brought out butterflies in abundance and my annual tally is now rising rapidly, after a slow start.

I only count those seen within one mile of home - and most have been seen within 250 metres.

The surprise viewing of a Purple Emperor enjoying the salts in the cement on the side of my cottage remains the highlight of the year, although this Marbled White is another on my list of favourites.

Today there were also vast numbers of Meadow Browns, Ringlets and Small Skippers. Gate Keepers have appeared for the first time and I also spotted a couple of blues, but didn't get close enough for a positive ID.

2014 List to date

Brimstone
Orange Tip
Speckled Wood
Small Tortoiseshell
Peacock
Red Admiral
Comma
Meadow Brown
Ringlet
Green Veined White
Large White,
Small White
Marbled White
Large Skipper
Small Skipper
Purple Emperor
Gate Keeper
Common Blue

I am still several species short of last year's 23 species recorded.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.