Bright Light, Dark Room

By ellies

Pleasant weekend. Bookclub on Friday night brought the first proper visitors to the new flat. They were complimentary, which made me feel better about it, but maybe they were just being polite! Yesterday I went west to see my parents. It was a wet, miserable day across on both sides of the country, which put a literal damper on my plans to make the most of their lovely garden. R is working in Glasgow so stayed at their place last night too but didn't get there til after midnight. Good job he didn't have to drive back to Edinburgh. He didn't have to be at work until 11 today so we went out for breakfast, which was a nice treat.

Back in Edinburgh this evening and it was sunny so I went to the Meadows to read for a bit. I feel like the summer is slipping away and I'm not making the most - we live two minutes from the Meadows now and this was the first time I've sat there this year! And it was actually a bit breezy/chilly so I didn't stay as long as intended. I also felt a bit lonely. I have lovely friends in Edinburgh but no one who is near enough and generally uncommitted enough to just call and say 'see you in 20 mins,' and I'd love to have that, especially while R is working long hours in Glasgow. He's working on the Commonwealth Games opening ceremony just now, then has three days off (on two of which I'm working) and then embarks on 7 weeks' work on another job in Glasgow until the middle of September.

Maybe I need a hobby!!! Also, I have a couple of lovely weekends away with friends lined up in August. And September and October are going to be crazy work-wise with lots of weekend working, so maybe I should be relishing this time to myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.