Rodents rule

By squirk

Slip, sliding away

Omar had been tucking into this red pepper quite happily, but then it started raining, which she doesn't like very much. She buried herself away by the fence and I dashed out to grab the guinea pigs before the slugs stole the comfort of their shelter. After the three trips into the garden and back (one trip per two handfuls of guinea pig), I spotted the snail perched on the peak of the pepper. It looked very fine, but I caught only its downfall. I doubt there will be much left of the pepper by morning judging by the number of molluscs I spotted en route indoors.

I'd been planning to go to The Ritzy cinema to see Monty Python live (something Fred booked back in April), but the staff are striking today in protest of not being paid the Living Wage. One cinema ticket costs more than the hourly wage of a Ritzy staff member. To meet the living wage, the salary needs to be raised by £1.27 an hour. The Ritzy is part of the Picturehouse group, which is part of Cineworld. Terry Jones of the Pythons tweeted his support asking people to boycott the live screening and ask for the ticket price to be refunded. The Ritzy is my favourite cinema, but this does make me think hard about going there. Our tickets are being refunded.

I ended up watching The 100 instead. It seems like a fairly standard post-apocalyptic, sci-fi storyline, but I like this kind of thing, so I'm hooked already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.