On To Nara

MK - Always ft. Alana (Disciples Remix)

...and another work week ends and I'm immediately off to Nara to visit my friend and his wonderful son. It was good travelling, it gave me time to relax (despite the incredible heat and humidity). Japan is one of those few places in the world that allow people to smoke inside a public place. As bad as it is, it reminds me of a time that wasn't mine. I don't condone such things philosophically but I often ponder about life in other times. Perhaps it's a way of escaping the current problems of the everyday as a form of relief. I have never watched Mad Men but many people have told me how "cool" the characters are of the time it was set and that they smoked and drank an incredible amount of substances that are deemed "evil" in today's zeitgeist. We're always improving so to speak but there are a lot of philosophical benefits of the old.

Arriving in Nara, the humidity reminded me of arriving in Malaysia at night to visit my grandma and the excitement of arriving in a foreign country. The arrival would often follow with a trip to the local mamak store to eat roti chanai or won-ton mee. It was good to travel. Upon meeting my friend, we sank some beers, had a lovely long chat and watched a couple of movies.

I'm very thankful to have such good friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.