Inverculain

By Inverculain

Fuchsia

Back in Reading for a couple of days, and having had a busy day I reverted to my usual fallback blip strategy - seeing what I can find in the garden!

I love fuchsias. I can't say I agree with people who say they're like little ballet dancers - I can see it for the top part, down as far as the skirt, but then they seem to have an alarming number of legs!! But I like the shape of the flowers and the way they hang, and how different strains have variations in the colour and details. We have several in the garden.

I'm also a Mervyn Peake fan, and one of my favourite fictional characters is Fuchsia from the Gormenghast novels.

Despite being a fuchsia ethusiast, though, I have a mental block about spelling the word - I almost always write "fuschia"!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.