Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Airport

I saw a lot of these today. Moving day finally came!

I'd be lying if I said it was a blissful journey. Today has probably been one of the hardest, emotional roller coasters I've been on. I found it very difficult to keep it together on the first flight to Amsterdam from Glasgow - sorry to the person who had to sit next to a sniffling mess on the plane. I've never lived outside of Scotland. Saying goodbye to my parents and stepping on the plane was hard. Ae Fond Kiss coming up on shuffle on my iPod as we took off was both appropriate and disastrous for my nerves.

It's time like these when I am so grateful for my relationship with God. Today I really was relying not on my own strength. Reading psalms and listening to Getty hymns (I'm a bit of a fan :p) were what helped keep me calm. Songs full of truths about who God is and what He has achieved, rather than emotional experience songs like Oceans - which I am a fan of, it just wasn't helpful to listen to today. There was a real need for His peace that transcends all understanding and He was there for me today when all I wanted to do was run away.

The second flight was completely different. I'd left Scotland and the Commonwealth Games behind, now I just wanted to get to Basel! I was bobbing up and down with excitement as we descended and I caught my first glimpses of Switzerland.

The only hiccup of the day was when I arrived and couldn't find my landlord at the arrivals gate! It turns out I went to the wrong one (into France not Switzerland, Basel is right on the border) and I eventually found him. I settled into my new room and took a look around the apartment, only to find a piano in the living room! Ecstatic does not even cover how I feel about this. I was so worried I wouldn't get a chance to keep my playing up this year.

"Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen." Eph 3:20-21

So I'm now unpacked, hooked up to the wifi and have met the lovely people I'm going to be living with. God is very good. I can't wait to go exploring tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.