Ukulele Hayley

By Ukulelehayley

A Day and a Half

Not the best of days.

Our school have an annual trip to Hunstanton. They take several coaches. Everyone goes. I don't work Tuesdays but my Head asked me if I could go. I didn't have anyone to pick up the children, I hate coaches and I'd already said I'd help with Alfie's leaver's BBQ so I didn't go.

I had an email at lunchtime; one of the coaches had been involved in an accident. It was on its side in a ditch. Emergency services were at the scene.
Miraculously no one was badly hurt. There were minor injuries but the driver was taken to Addenbrookes. I wonder how they are emotionally? It's their leavers service tomorrow morning. I think how much worse it could have been.

Alf and his mates played football after the BBQ and alf was tackled badly and fell on his shoulder. He was obviously in terrible pain; white, sweaty, crying. We went to A&E. A broken collar bone.

At the moment I'm sad. Sad about the summer holiday he's going to have: no swimming, no football, no cricket. No guitar. Missing his last day at Primary School tomorrow.


I've cried but tomorrow I will be positive. It could have been so much worse. We could be mourning our children this evening. Thankfully they are tucked up safely in their beds. But how fragile they are. How precious.

Ian would have been 46 today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.