Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Common Frog (Rana temporaria) sitting in Duckweed

This Frog is becoming rare in Britain because of environmental changes and loss of habitat (farmers have filled in ponds and ditches, and removed hedges). We can help by creating the habitats which they need in our gardens. Another factor which has caused a decline, is the increasing use of insecticides, not only on farms but also in gardens, so their foodstuff is also becoming more scarce.

Duckweed (Lemna minuta) is a miracle plant for many reasons
• Cost effective renewable energy
• Water filter
• Mosquito prevention
• Prevents algae
• Reduces evaporation
• Virtually free animal feed
• Food for humans

My pond is full of it (no, I haven't sampled it yet!) and my next door neighbour keeps asking me why I don't clean it. Simple! I have newts and frogs in my pond - she has only clear water in her pond. Well, I suppose clear water is attractive to some LOL!

Hot here - sitting in my bikini as I write!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.