My happy little life

By khoola

A present in place of my presence

My oldest friend is getting married in February. Sadly I won't be able to share her special day with her, as she lives at the other end of the country, and I've just had a baby. But this doesn't matter, we have spent most of our friendship hundreds, sometimes thousands of miles apart, and yet we remain as close as we were when we were 7 years old at school together. I have a box of all of the letters that she wrote to me, as a child in a new country, through to teenage dramas. They tell the story of our friendship, which didn't need us to be in the same place for most of our major life "moments". A piece of me will be with Emma on her special day though - she has entrusted me with the task of making her wedding jewellery, which I have finished today. I just really, really hope she likes it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.