Nil Desperandum

By PhilA

Straw bails at Roecliffe

I love the Yorkshire Dales and living on the edge of them I more often than not find myself cycling into the heart of them,
Today however I made a conscious effort to head off in a different direction and enjoy the flatter terrain in the Ripon direction.
It's a real eye opener as around and beyond Bishop Monkton the farming moves from a large majority of grazing to a quite intense arable type of farming. The vast machinery needed to make the equally vast fields a profitable existence were in evidence on this very hot afternoon.
Wheat, maize and through my own lack of knowledge, many other unbeknown crops were in eveidence.
I need to get out that way more often and read up a bit to gain a better level of knowledge and understanding of arable farming

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.