Me, myself & I

By AlisonMM

Pte William Chitty

I'm still working my way through paperwork from my parents' house. I've had to be fairly tough and ruthless and get rid of old birthday cards but I've also come across old family photos and papers.

This letter relates to my grandfather William Chitty who was in the 51st Highlanders (bit of a mystery as he hailed from Surrey!) It sounds as though he was working behind the lines on vehicles but still a very important job.

With the letter was a combined leave the railway ticket for Granddad to travel from France to London between 29th September and 9th October 1917.

I looked up the 51st Highlanders. They fought at the Somme and Arras. By coincidence I've been to Arras a couple of times and very much liked the town. Small world.

I never knew my granddad - he died long before I was born - but I'm very proud of him all the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.