all the other strangeness

We landed in our old hometown Espoo in the middle of holiday season and July heatwave. It felt strange and deserted with only subway construction sites anywhere we went. During this trip I've done something I never thought I would do in Finland: escaped to an air-conditioned shopping mall because it felt too hot outside.

Another surreal thing happened: In the middle of the night I woke up to our doorbell ringing. Still sleepy I went to open not knowing what to expect. A firefighter in full equipment stood behind the door asking if we had just called them. Not as far as I knew. He then gave me another address and asked if knew where it was. Unfortunately I didn't. They had come with at least two trucks and a car. We never found out if they eventually found their real "customer" or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.