......the unlucky competitor..........

Not a good shot........but it's too late to reshoot.....00.04.

These are three pins from St. Vincent and the Grnadines

On the left the pin from the 1998 CWG in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Central.......the very rare pin from the Centennial Olympics in Atlanta 1996

On the right the Manchester 2002 pin.

Watching the CWG I have smiled st the faces of the medalists.......those who set records......those who achieve personal bests.......those who are just so pleased to be there............but today I have a sad tale from Manchester 2002.

On the fourth day of the Games I was sat in the smoking area about 11.00 a.m. when a tall guy entered the area and asked if I was available to drive him somewhere. I explained that I was attached to SVG.......but if they didn't need me I would be pleased to drive him.

His accent was South African.....but he was representing Kenya....in the Lawn Bowling. He talked to me about moving to Kenya, because he wasn't happy in South Africa........and being selected for the Bowls team.......and coming all the way to Manchester.....but he had a problem...........he needed to get his bowls to HM Customs to be weighed and measured to ensure they were legal........and his first match was at 12.30 that day.

I was about to trot down to the SVG accommodation to see if I could take a vehicle to help him out........when a little niggle in my head made me ask where the Customs Office was..........his reply?........Liverpool Docks!

I explained to him that with the best will in the world there was no way of getting to Liverpool........getting the bowls checked........and getting back to the venue in Manchester in time for his match.

He was gutted........and so was I for him.....years of preparation......and then not even getting to take part........all because of an administrative cock up! I don't know if the cock up was the fault of the Kenyan delegation......or the competitor himself.....or the Games organisers.....but I couldn't help thinking that surely the bowls could have been checked at the venue.....or at least in Manchester...not 30 odd miles away.

I left him....a sad man........thinking that as he was a smoker I might see him again.......but it didn't ever happen........perhaps he went straight back to Africa.

A restful day with the Boss......steak and salad for dinner......out to the quiz......we won a bottle of wine for the picture round.......£10 on Play Your Cards Right...........so that's £100 and two bottles of wine stashed away for our Christmas meal

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.