SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Growing for Gold

I bet you’re thinking this blip is going to be about the Commonwealth Games-I’m sorry to disappoint, it’s not.

I read today that to launch the 2014 Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) Britain in Bloom campaign and to celebrate Bloom’s golden anniversary, the RHS encouraged community groups across the UK to plant golden pollinator-friendly flowers in public spaces. They called this community campaign Growing for Gold. I quite like the words growing for gold, it has some resonance with the ideas of personal development and achievement for me.

I’m told that to help communities take part the RHS sent out more than 500,000 sunflower seeds to Britain in Bloom community groups across the UK to plant in their neighbourhoods. What a great way to help people get involved!

This is one of our local planters to celebrate the occasion, I think it looks great and there were certainly plenty of bees around whilst I was looking at the flowers.

“Dare to love yourself
as if you were a rainbow
with gold at both ends.”


Aberjhani, Journey through the Power of the Rainbow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.