Where is Everyone?

You may well ask, little Coal Tit. A minute or two earlier the garden was full of Starlings squabbling over the last bit of a fat ball that had dropped out of a feeder. I popped inside for a second, and the noise of the Starlings became even more frenetic. When I looked back, the Starlings had gone, except for one youngster who was firmly in the grasp of a Sparrowhawk on the lawn. As the Sparrowhawk seemed preoccupied with his catch, I rushed indoors for my camera but when I returned, all that was in the same spot was next door's cat.
This Coal Tit was the first bird to return once peace was restored. Coal Tits are not uncommon birds in the area, but for some reason we don't get many in our garden, so it was nice to see this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.