One River: Bridges and Tunnels

As the weather looks as though it is set to deteriorate after today, I thought I'd do another leg of my River Don Journey. Each step brings me nearer home and I should pass closest to our house on the next-but-one leg. Today was from Penistone to Finkle Street, mostly on the Trans Pennine Trail, but once again, I did a couple of short detours to get closer to the river. This one was via a spot called Cheese Bottom and involved me following the river under the TPT then backing up onto the trail. This photo was taken from the viaduct looking down, as the river flows below a smaller grassy bridge, whereas this one was taken from below looking up.(you can just make out the bridge in the background. Further along, I had to walk through an old railway tunnel, which was quite long, but lit for the benefit of walkers and cyclists, whereas equestrians , it was suggested, might prefer to use an alternative route. The TPT here doubles as The Upper Don Trail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.