Cornwall, day 10. Bye, bye St Ives

I have two choices for my blip today; this early morning shot of the harbour as I go to collect the car from the long term car park, or a shot of a traffic jam. I guess you may have seen a traffic jam before, but you may not have seen St Ive’s harbour at 7.00am on a cloudy morning in August. I certainly haven’t. And I would rather have this as my final reminder of our time here than the three and half hours we spent in a traffic jam on the M5 on the way home.

We've had a brilliant time. Anniemay sold a picture and Cornwall has done wonders for my health. The gallery is situated at the top of a steep hill. For the first few days I had to stop halfway up to catch my breath. This morning I ran up it. I was showing off to Anniemay of course, and had to hide round the corner at the top until the coughing and spluttering subsided She was kind enough to walk slowly up the hill, thereby saving me from embarrassment. But I impressed her, nonetheless.

It’s also done wonders for my education. It’s been good to talk to the potters and see the world, especially the clay and the local rocks, which inspire their work, from a different point of view. They’ve been very encouraging. There’s talk of returning to St Ives next year and they’ve suggested I hang some of my photographs on the gallery wall next time. I will give it some thought.

I’ve included a few photos from the past 10 days here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.