nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Snog

So, this evening should have found me in Brighton, all ready for surgery tomorrow. Train tickets booked, hotel booked, sister using two weeks leave from work to look after me, mate looking after the rats, friend planning to visit... This morning I got a call from the surgeon's secretary to say he (the surgeon) had injured his wrist. The soonest date I can go for is possibly in a few weeks time, short notice and dependent on the surgeon's son's exam results. Right.

Totally thrown for a while and not sure what to do with myself. All psyched up, all prepared... Couldn't face going back in to work, so after a few phone calls decided to take some leave instead, and I'll either go back to work in a few week's time, or I'll be going in for the op and my absence will be a little longer than expected.

So, ended up using a least a bit of my train ticket and went down to London to see my sister. We had a walk around the south bank, a beer on a boat that had camouflage-style paint on (which made us both a little sea-sick) and nice food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.