Scribbler

By scribbler

Dalai Lama too

Sketchbook drawing from a film called "Ten Questions for the Dalai Lama."
Tombow brush pen.


I sent yesterday's Dalai Lama drawing to my friend Dirk, recovering from heart surgery—too weak to do more than a few minutes on the exercise bike before taking another nap, and evidently too weak to refrain from teasing me. He told me my drawing made His Holiness look like a thug! It must have been that baseball visor. So here, I hope, is a less thuggish version.

Tombow brush pens are like watercolor, transparent and capable of being blended on the page with water. I rarely use them that way because I love to scribble. I like the mark-making. You can see the pens in the back row here, neatly sorted, blues and greens on the left, reds and yellows on the right.

WISDOM OF THE DALAI LAMA

“The promotion of religious harmony is essential.
All major religious traditions carry this same message:
the message of love, compassion, forgiveness, tolerance, contentment, self-discipline,
and spiritual brotherhood and sisterhood.”

“In our whole life, from birth to death, human affection is the most important factor,
the human value that gives us not only peace of mind but physical wellbeing.”


You have all my affection, Dirk, and I forgive you for teasing me about my thuggish drawing. Ah, I feel better now. Contented.
Sending healing prayers to my spiritual brother on the exercise bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.