Day 2

Of my spiritual weekend.

Today I visited a church with dad, a little village 5 miles away from where we grew up. My Grandmother used to worship at this church and we spent many a Christmas Eve at midnight mass at this church. I was ill on a couple of ocassions and had to leave early, not well at all poor mam had to take me home I was only 7! so no drink involved then.

My children were both confirmed at this church and my daughter was able to have her first chalice from my mam.

There are people at this church who new my mam and grandma from many years ago so it was nice to go back today and have a little celebration for one of the clergy and her family who are moving on to new ventures.

The picture - it's in the vestry and has been for nearly 40 years! I can remember most people in this photo but unfortunately not all.

And yes, I am on it but not saying where! I used to sing in the choir at this church. I'm ashamed to say I can't remember if it was every week. Needless to say mam would no doubt chaufer.

Another day of reflecting and remembering of fond memories. It's good to go back sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.